100% Pure Maple Syrup – Accept No Substitute

I was born in the northeast and lived there on and off until I was 12-years old. When I say northeast, I’m talking true New England. Born in Connecticut and lived in New Hampshire. While in this wonderful part of the country, my family was introduced on a summer vacation to REAL Vermont maple syrup, and we were SOLD. After that, there was no substitute. For me it was REAL maple syrup from either Vermont or Canada or I at my pancakes, waffles or French toast dry. No kidding. My husband didn’t get it, until he tried it one day, and finally understood my discriminating taste. While I accept no substitute, he will at times be willing to take the fake stuff while camping or at the IHOP.    

Maple Syrup

Pure Maple Syrup has Anti-oxidants

  

After years, decades of being called a syrup snob, my pickiness has paid off and been vindicated: pure, real maple syrup has health benefits, even more than we thought. It is a plant food after all, coming from the sap of maple trees. On March 21, University of Rhode Island medicinal plant researcher, Navindra Seeram, presented his findings on maple syrup at the American Chemical Society’s 2010 annual meeting. It turns out that maple syrup is not only rich in calcium, manganese, zinc and other minerals, but is also loaded with antioxidants, some previously unidentified. Some of the antioxidants in the maple syrup report to have anti-cancer, anti-bacterial, and anti-diabetic properties. The benefits are only found in PURE maple syrup – Canadian or U. S. produced.     

Maple syrup is high in calories about 200 calories in ¼ cup (4 tablespoons) and 52 g of sugar. Even with the health benefits consume your antioxidant rich goodness in moderation.      

The research was funded by a grant from the Conseil pour le développement de l’agriculture du Québec (translated in English: Council for the Development of Agriculture in Quebec).      

Canada is biggest producer of maple syrup, followed closely by the United States. The United States is the biggest consumer of maple syrup. I admit that I am one of the reasons the U.S. is a big consumer.

One thought on “100% Pure Maple Syrup – Accept No Substitute

Leave a Reply

