It’s Summer: I Need My Blender

Summer = high blender use!

Several years ago I finally started practicing what I preach and I devoutly eat breakfast 6-7 days a week. I have four primary types of breakfast:

  1. Summer = smoothies. My smoothies are a variation of light soymilk (vanilla or chocolate), frozen fruit, Greek yogurt and oatmeal.
  2. Winter = oatmeal. My “oatmeal” contains quick cook oatmeal, dried fruit, nuts, wheat germ, flax seeds, chia seeds, and soy milk.
  3. Weekend = pancakes. One day each weekend my husband makes pancakes topped with real maple syrup. We use Coaches Oats Multigrain Pancake Mix found at Costco. Unfortunately this is a seasonal item, so we stock up on it in the winter by buying a bag of it every week and storing it in the freezer. We hope it carries us through the year until returns next winter.
  4. Out = French Toast. When we go out to restaurants for breakfast, which is rare, I usually order French toast. Sometimes, I go wild and order eggs and hash browns.

It is June, so I am in full smoothie swing! Day-to-day it varies: chocolate or vanilla soy milk. Strawberries and bananas or frozen cherries. Add a third cup of Greek yogurt and a quarter cup of uncooked oatmeal (try it, you’ll see) and I have my breakfast/recovery “meal” following my morning run. If I need something before an event or long run or a bike ride l add extra yogurt and have it an hour or two before.

My KitchenAid blender has gotten me through many summers, plus the other recipes I need it for. Each morning I handwash all the parts, including the glass jar. It is thick glass, very durable. Except when one (accidentally) smacks it over and over again against the porcelain sink. This morning, it was the last straw: no big shatter, but a great big chip and beautiful crack down the side. Sigh, with a bit of panic. I need to eat breakfast tomorrow. What to do? A regular person might persist in using the blender jar until the replacement comes in, but it is against food service policy to do so. I can’t risk it. (Yes, this is my home and not a restaurant, but still…)

As soon as I arrived at work this morning, I promptly ordered my replacement jar. It will arrive in 7-10 days. I just have to figure out what to do until then.

Thanks to some of my Facebook friends for the following recommendations:

Lee H (aka my brother): McDonalds for a Sausage McMuffin with Cheese and Hashbrowns
Jessica B: cereal
Tara V: Sonic
Robin P: buy one, keep receipt and return when the replacement comes in (she read my mind)
Ann S: Cap’n Crunch

Sorry, you all, but fast food and cereal just doesn’t quite do it for me. I’m pretty set in my ways. I think I still have my old blender that I’m saving for when my son moves out… Will the 7-10 days go fast enough?

3 thoughts on “It’s Summer: I Need My Blender

Leave a Reply

