Eggnog is Back!

This is one of my favorite seasonal drinks.

Growing up, I looked forward to eggnog as one of our holiday traditions. Little did I know that my mom was mixing it with one part skim/non-fat milk, so I never knew the rich, full taste of “whole” eggnog.

I think the first time I tasted undiluted eggnog, I got sick (and it was without alcohol) from it being so rich and sweet.  On the other hand, my husband stood horrified when I diluted eggnog with milk: it ruined it, he said.

As health consciousness entered our grown-up household, me from the studying to become a dietitian and my husband by attrition, we bought eggnog less and less when the holidays arrive. We just want to save those calories for some of the other goodies of the season. One year I even remember my son, about 8-9 years old, actually spitting out his eggnog once he realized how much fat was in it. (His strong reaction shocked me, but he refused to drink it again that year.)

Now each year I am on the lookout for my new favorite “nog” – Silk Soy Nog. In my opinion it tastes just as good as the “real” stuff, lactose intolerant people can consume it, people who can’t have high fat can consume it, and it is still pretty darn good with Brandy.

Last year, I got inspired and tried my hand at homemade eggnog – the real deal. A lot of work, much more expensive than store-bought, and it was so good that it was gone in one night. Did I mention it was a lot of work?

So, here is my recommendation:

  1. Eggnog (150 calories, 8.5 g fat in ½ cup), if you can handle, and like, the real stuff then go for it! It is a once or twice a year treat.
  2. Silk Nog (90 calories, 2 g fat in ½ cup) for those who want the taste without the extra calories and fat (you can have twice as much!).
  3. Homemade for the very domestic. Check out this recipe from EatingWell.com: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/eggnog.html  This is a is a healthier, lower fat version of the traditional eggnog and still has egg and cream! The calories for this homemade recipe are nearly the same as regular eggnog, but the fat is much lower: 140 calories, 4 g fat in ½ cup.

Note: all the calorie counts are without alcohol. Add about 100 calories per shot of brandy, rum or bourbon added.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

