Motivation to Keep Up Your 2011 Goals

Share

Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you will land among the stars. – Les Brown

With one-month of the New Year behind us are you still working on your goals? Four weeks ago many people made resolutions or set goals, but by now most of them are aside because of lack of motivation or no/poor results. Are you one of those people? I hope not.

As I rate my month, I realize that I had a successful January. I set my plans and set aside time to work on them.

Dust off your goals and see where you are. If you forgot what they were, maybe you should re-evaluate them and redevelop them? Here are some things to think about:

Be positive. I urge my clients to think about the positive and not the negative. Instead of STOP, REDUCE, LESS, NEVER, and similar words, think about how you can change that. Instead of STOP procrastinating, I am “more efficient with my time.” Instead of LESS sugar, I am eating for my health

Don’t beat yourself up if you aren’t 100% successful. Take your goal and start now, not tomorrow or Monday or next week. I planned on exercising a certain amount of days each month, but there will be a day (or many) that I don’t want to get up to do it. So I set a percentage of the days I am going to exercise. For example, I plan to exercise 28 times this month, but as long as I do 85% or 24 of those planned days, I am successful.

Results will come. Most of the time, results don’t come immediately. While it takes around 3 weeks for form a new habit, for some it takes longer. Many people don’t often work on and develop their habits. For them to be successful, it takes work, time and dedication. Make time to work on your goals. If you want to run a race, you need to take time to train regularly.

Everyone can succeed in obtaining their goals; they just need to be the proper ones for you and you must take time to work on them.

Keep moving ahead.

Share