Lost Kitchen Appliance Update

Share

Homemade Pasta on the Drying Rack

Six months ago I posted about some of my long-lost kitchen appliances. Today, I give an update and introduce my new favorite appliance.

Honestly, some of these appliances I consider seasonal, but that is my personal quirk. The bread machine, waffle iron and Crockpot/slow cooker tend to be winter appliances. However, my blender is definitely a summer appliance: smoothies for breakfast in summer, but not so much in the winter. It isn’t that I don’t use these items in the opposite season; they just tend to be used so much more in their “season.”

The long lost kitchen appliance that has gotten the most use in the last couple of months: the pasta machine. Something we received in 1994 had gone into hibernation for about 8-9 years. We hadn’t used it in this house and we moved here in 2003. I usually have one pasta dish each week, always store-bought. One day my husband suggested we make pasta. After searching for the original recipe (cleverly store in the box with the pasta machine) I mixed up a double batch in the KitchenAid mixer using the dough hook (life-saver). Cranking away and having noodles on the drying rack – half the batch ended up in the freezer for later use and half in the fridge to eat that night. A couple of weeks later, I search the freezer to find no pasta. Someone cooked it up for lunch one day and ate it all. So, this past Sunday, I made another double batch no one in the house knows about and put both in the freezer. The family won’t know until it is time to pull it out to cook it.

New Member to the Kitchen Appliance Family

Right before Memorial weekend, I got a new appliance. Actually it is an appliance accessory: ice cream maker attachment for my KitchenAid mixer. I am so excited about this accessory that I have made 8 batches of sorbet/ice cream in the last 6 weeks.

I grew up with homemade ice cream during the summer. We had the hand crank with the ice and rock salt. The rule of the house was that if you didn’t crank, you didn’t get ice cream. About 16 years ago I acquired a hand crank ice cream maker, and never used it. Too much time, too much work, and it held a lot of ice cream. (We are a pint family, not a half-gallon family.)

The new toy is fun and I love experimenting with the various recipes I have had to set aside over the years because we didn’t have an ice cream maker/freezer.  Three flavors are  in the freezer now: Tequila Lime Sorbet (my son’s favorite), Lemon-Buttermilk Ice Cream (my favorite), and Salted Caramel Ice Cream (my husband’s favorite). Those favorites are based on what is in the freezer. The Bittersweet Chocolate Sorbet and Rum-Macadamia Ice Cream were also fantastic.

Sadly, though, I am sure this appliance will take a back seat once the cold weather arrives. But for now, my entire family is enjoying its “newness” and the benefits that go with that.

No affiliation with KitchenAid. It is just that their Cobalt is my kitchen color.

Share//

Leave a Reply

